Photo

Akim Aliu

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Mapleleafs-13

Mapleleafs-13
  • LocationToronto

Posted 04 July 2020 - 09:10 PM

Haven't been on this site for a while, but was super surprised that this article or subjects similar to this was never posted in this forum. Especially in recent times. 

If you haven't read it already then please take your time and go over it as it's definitely worth a read. 

https://www.theplaye...e-akim-aliu-nhl

A lot of what he says is very true in hockey culture which makes the culture around the sport a shitty place. Although I’m not black I’m still a minority that’s heard some fucked up shit. Usually I’ll say something or take action if someone says something out of line, I've been lucky in the sense that no one's said anything racists like that to my face cause I wouldn't hesitate to knock someone out for that.  

I've been playing hockey for many years now because I love the sport and I feel the same way that Akim feels about being about to fly around on the ice under your own power out with your friends or at an outdoor pick up just feeling the air and play with some random people just enjoying the session and living in the now with nothing else on your mind, there’s something addictive about it.

When I tell someone that doesn’t know a lot about hockey that I play the sport and they call me a “hockey player”, I strongly dislike it due to the stigma and connotations of what comes along with it and what people view it as. I always find myself telling them that I like hockey cause it’s fun and not for the culture. I loathe the way hockey players talk, closet racism, politics and other negative aspects that are involved in hockey.