Photo

Best Cage/Size for CCM V08 Bucket

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Nazzy

Nazzy
  • LocationBritish Columbia, Canada

Posted 26 November 2020 - 01:38 PM

Hey guys, I'm sure this topic has been brought up before, but I started playing hockey in my 20's so have never worn a cage.  Our beer league team folded..so guys are going to cages at a depressing rate..cause nobody is going to chirp them at pickup lol.  I've only ever worn an Oakley Pro Straight Small but am feeling like a cage wouldn't hurt..for all the reasons we know.

So question, do I buy a Medium cage for a Medium bucket?  What cage fits and looks best with a V08? Is it a thing to buy a bigger cage for style..but then would it be more likely to hit my shoulders?  I know the color pref is a personal thing but I don't need to try them all.  I'm good to follow the most popular choice.  Will I need any additional hardware?  

Any help is appreciated, owning 4 different Medium V08's..I might be buying 4 cages..so would want them all to be the same.  Thanks!!

#2 Chow_hound

Chow_hound

Posted 26 November 2020 - 03:33 PM

Hardware to attach varies with cage. Depends on if you are doing full cage or a combo. Combos with cage lower and visor upper may be more familiar of a feel to you.

Sizing isn’t always a 1 to 1 match with your helmet. For example a Bauer Concept 3 length is the same as an Itech FX50 but the FX50 fit farther away from your face and sticks out further.

There are going to be examples of varied size, width, length, depth of all models. Sadly the best bet is to try your LHS and bring in your helmet and fit cages against it. You might need J clips for the sides and a bracket or clips for the top hole mounts.

Personally I haven’t used the V08 so I can’t speak to what works best with it.

#3 shoeshine boy

shoeshine boy
  • LocationDecatur, GA

Posted 26 November 2020 - 04:38 PM