Photo

Can someone explain JOFA

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Mapleleafs-13

Mapleleafs-13
  • LocationToronto

Posted 19 March 2013 - 12:23 AM

I haven't really been into hockey gear as long as you guys, to tell you the truth i only started playing outdoor shinny 3-4 years ago and it's been my first year playing with full equipment. But i've always enjoyed hockey, either watching it or playing road hockey and whatnot.

So now that you know that, i'm trying to figure out what the hype is about JOFA. I see brand new elbow pads go for $250 plus and other equipment go for stupid amounts. Is their stuff really that superior than bauer or ccm or so on. Is it worth so much cause they don't make the equipment with jofa logos on it cause reebok bought it?! Is it cause pros rock'd the equipment so much. what's the deal?

I did the wiki search and supposedly they were really good helmets when they were made. The guy that invented JOFA has passed on at 92 years of age. They also made equipment for Bandy and horseback riding. They were based out of sweeden. But after reading all that i can't figure out why the insane prices.

Looking for BIOSTEEL jersey made by UA or Adidas.

Looking for Bauer Pro defender elbows size Large

My ebay (better prices for members)

#2 IDoezIt

IDoezIt
  • LocationMN

Posted 19 March 2013 - 12:44 AM

hahaha @ the breif history.

Honestly. Im still kind of new to the whole eqp whoring but i dont get it much either.

Though, i have been searching for some shins but caved recently to retail 9ks for 65 bucks. 

Is there much difference between the new KFS RBK Shin pads vs the Old Jofas? 

ISO:

Kovalchuk Mitts Crosby Mitts

#3 HockeySavants

HockeySavants
  • LocationEast TN

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:00 AM

Here's the deal behind JOFA:

Their protective gear is very well made and very....protective.

Their helmets are suicide buckets nowadays, but it's hard to find better shin pads and elbows.